Loo’s Hainanese Curry Rice II // Seng Poh Road

Tiong_bahru-19

We are back once again to Loo’s Hainanese Curry Rice – this is a Singapore heritage, a store that lasted from 1940s till now.

This is my 2nd visit, it is in the new location – at 71 Seng Poh Road, not Eng Hoon St. You can read my first experience here.

I ran across the street to take the overall street landmark. You can see Block 71 signage sticking out from main road. Then again, you won’t even lift your head up to look at what’s above you cos of the scorching sun. The place is bustling with lunch crowd. Not very long queue fortunately.

Tiong_bahru-4

Tiong_bahru-6

Tiong_bahru-9

Tiong_bahru-8

Tiong_bahru-5

Tiong_bahru-10

 

Tiong_bahru-7

The usual question: What do you want to order?
You’ll have to know what you want before ordering otherwise the queue behind you will get impatient.
As for me, I opted for plain rice without the curry gravy.

Tiong_bahru-12

Tiong_bahru-11

 

Miss HB and Grandpa got Rice with Curry gravy. I tried and was very satisfied with my option. Their curry gravy just wasn’t to my liking. But curry vege below hits the right spot. Coconut fragrant in the curry and its spices worked very well with my plain rice! Natural sweetness of well cooked cabbage was infused into the curry.

Another worthy mention this time round was the Fried Pork Chop. Now then I understand why it must be a dish ordered when you come to Loo’s Hainanese Curry Rice store. Outer layer crispy crust and tender meat. Very tasty overall.

But Miss HB Grandpa who patronised the store for past 50 years told us their standard drop.
To be fair, they switched location. You know, the feeling of cooking and location has got a lot to do with how the product turns out to be. And Ah Gong had been a die hard fan of this store (he literally had this curry rice every single  Saturday), so he had tasted the original version and compare it with new generation Loo’s Hainanese Curry Rice.

As for me, I am not a fan of Hainanese Curry Rice even though I am a Hainanese dialect. But my Peranakan side is stronger, my attachment to Peranakan food always sticks with me.

I enjoyed my lunch company though.

 

Tiong_bahru-13

Tiong_bahru-17

Tiong_bahru-14

Tiong_bahru-15

Tiong_bahru-16

Tiong_bahru-18

 

Loo’s Hainanese Curry Rice
71 Seng Poh Road #01-49

7.45am till 2.30pm
Closed Alt Tuesday

Tiong_bahru-1

Tiong_bahru-2

Tiong_bahru-3

Tiong_bahru-23
Tiong_bahru-28

Tiong_bahru-26

Tiong_bahru-27

Tiong_bahru-24

Tiong_bahru-21

Tiong_bahru-25

Tiong_bahru-22

 // jinchaijiak – Writeup

2 thoughts on “Loo’s Hainanese Curry Rice II // Seng Poh Road

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

