Superlike! // BENI Covers (Flashback to 1990s) – #tbt #throwbackthursday #throwbackthursdayy

Gotto admit that I’m a fan of Jdrama and Jpop in the 90s. Their music arrangements those days were fantastic, very advanced in Asia. And knowing that Japanese are serious about what they listen to. Japan was the only Asian country that superstar artiste and bands performed at during 80 – 90s era. Japan was considered one of the main site for major tours – Madonna, TOTO, Whitney Houston, Michael Jackson, etc. Unfortunately when mp3 took the world by storm, Japan wasn’t the first in Asia adapt.

Back to Jpop. Always loved the way they improvised their theme song into those touching scenes. Wah lau, sibeh moving can.
So when I came across this English version of La La La Love Song sung by Beni // YouTube video below by CallowCottage. Just one word to describe – Emotional.
Those feelings of adolescents came rushing back, my heart thumping harder like as if I’m a teenager again. It’s not like I can control right? There’s this huge mix of feelings, how to say ah. Lemme try…

To further describe, it’s like when I first saw my crush. I don’t dare look at her but I want to be near her….yeah that kinda of feeling.
When I approached my crush for the first time, and she gave me her number…that kind of adrenaline and jellyness…wah lau that kind of feeling lor!
Ahem (during the 90s, we use phone to chit-chat)
I’m exposed to these emotional kind of music in the past. Plus, La La La Love Song was the Main Theme of my all time favorite Japanese Drama – Long Vacation ロングバケーション by Takuya Kimura and Tomoko Yamaguchi.

Ah memories. #throwback

La La La Love Song – OST. Long Vacation

After La La La Song, this familiar title – Suddenly lurked by the right side of the screen. So curious me clicked on the button.
Oh my Gawwd…it’s a super old song I loved! (SUDDENLY ラブストーリーは突然に – 小田和正 1991 Production)
But Beni covers nailed the 老歌新唱 feel. Especially remaking the retro music feel. It’s all so good. So far this list have 4 songs that won my heart. With last song ending with True Love by 藤井フミヤ Fumiya Fujii , I still have his 1996 CD. Very expensive can?!

SUDDENLY ラブストーリーは突然に – 小田和正 OST. Tokyo Love Story
Listen to original version here

Artiste // BENI
Album // COVERS
Released // 2011.03.21

CD Tracklist //

1 // Ti Amo (BENI & Seiji Motoyama) original: EXILE
2 // LA・LA・LA LOVE SONG original: Toshinobu Kubota
3 // Hitomi wo Tojite (瞳をとじて Close Your Eyes) original: Hirai Ken
4 // Kanade (奏 (かなで) Response) original: Sukima
5 // One more time, One more chance original: Yamazaki Masayoshi
6 // Robinson (ロビンソン) original: Masamune Kusano
7 // SUDDENLY ~Love Story wa Totsuzen ni~ (SUDDENLY ~ラブ・ストーリーは突然に~ A Sudden Love Story) original: Kazumasa Oda
8 // Mou Koi Nante Shinai (もう恋なんてしない I’ll Never Fall in Love Again) original: Noriyuki Makihara
9 // Sakurazaka (桜坂) original: Masaharu Fukuyama
10 // Koko ni Shika Sakanai Hana (ここにしか咲かない花 Flowers Only Bloom Here) original: Kobukuro
11 // Ima no Kimi wo Wasurenai (今のキミを忘れない I Won’t Forget You In This Moment) original: Naoto Inti Raymi
12 // Itoshi no Elie (いとしのエリー Dear Elie) (original: Southern All Stars)
13 // TRUE LOVE original: Fumiya Fujii

Details Credit : CallowCottage – Youtube Channel Link

Though Beni sung in English. This original old school, nostalgic + retro feel remains. Credit mainly goes to music arrangements. Brings me back to the pass man….

Then one good thing led to another. CallowCottage channel led me to BENI Covers 2! Second CD of cover songs by Beni. Great songs in there too. My favorite is Christmas Eve / クリスマス・イブ, excellent intro.

Artist // BENI
Album // COVERS 2
Released // 2012.11.07

CD Tracklist //

1 // Lovers again original: EXILE
2 // White Lovers / 白い恋人達 original: Keisuke Kuwata [4:41]
3 // Singing a ballad song / 歌うたいのバラッド original: Kazuyoshi Saito cover [8:43]
4 // PIECES OF A DREAM original: Chemistry cover [14:38]
5 // Paradise / 楽園 original:Ken Hirai [19:35]
6 // Cherry / チェリー original: Spitz [24:46]
7 // Christmas Eve / クリスマス・イブ original:Tatsuro Yamashita [29:17]
8 // The Beginning is Always Rain / はじまりはいつも雨 original: ASKA [33:14]
9 // I LOVE YOU original: Yutaka Ozaki [37:10]
10 // Small Love Song / 小さな恋のうた original: MONGOL800 [41:42]
11 // The Kiss / 接吻 original: Original Love [46:22]
12 // Forever / 永遠に original: The Gospellers [51:04]
13 // SQUALL original: Masaharu Fukuyama [55:47]

Details Credit : CallowCottage – Youtube Channel Link

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

