Loo’s Hainanese Curry Rice // Seng Poh Road – Tiong Bahru

Attention // Loo’s Hainanese Curry Rice have relocated to 71 Seng Poh Road – Click here to read my visit to their new store. 


This time round, Miss HB was raving about this Hainanese Curry Rice which got her family craving for more. We had wanted to go to Tiong Bahru area for breakfast since last December. So this weekend, we finally made it to Eng Hoon Street!
My mom packed Hainanese Curry Rice several times. Now I finally get to meet the legendary Loo’s Hainanese Curry Rice stall. The queue was pretty alright, human flow is constant though. People are happily eating away their curry rice and dishes – good vibes.

Common dishes people ordered were, Squid (Sotong), Chap Chye (Mixed Vegetable Stew), Fried Pork Chop, Kong Bak (Braised Pork Belly)

Miss HB do not take Squid, so sad for me. I don’t get to order it. So we met half way ordering Curry Sambal prawn. Order was swift given that we do have quite some time to think through while queuing. They told me to get a seat after completion of order, it’ll be sent to me. Within 5 minutes. Our breakfast arrived at the table.

The rice have 3 kinds of gravy – Curry, Braised sauce, and some glazed sauce. (Will go back and ask the uncle next time. Let me practice my Hainanese first)
Curry texture is the gooey kind, interesting. Took half spoonful of rice and put it in my mouth. Then in my mind I wondered – Why make it gooey? Another scoop of rice, then started tasting other dishes hoping to find the reason the mysterious curry sauce – musings (atas word). Tau Pok, Curry Sambal Prawn, Chap Chye and Pork Chop. Miss HB looked at me bewildered, cos I was really serious in my thought and munching away.

After tasting all the dishes on the table, my choice dish is the Rice and Chap Chye.
But felt no love from my breakfast experience with Loo’s Hainanese Curry Rice, unfortunately because Miss HB was disappointed in my comments. She wanted so much to bring me here! Maybe expectation too high liao.
Still haven’t figured out why stall owner made the curry that way. But I’d say it’s pretty good. Easy to swallow and kids friendly.

As Indian and Peranakan Fish Curry lover. I don’t really fancy Chinese curry. But I’ll go back to eat Loo’s Hainanese Curry Rice again.

http://ieatishootipost.sg/2010/09/loos-hainanese-curry-rice-how-did.html

Loo’s Hainanese Curry Rice
71 Seng Poh Road #01-49

7.45am till 2.30pm
Closed Alt Tuesday

If there’s any dialect or singlish you don’t understand. You can refer to singlishdictionary.com This is so cool!

Leave a Reply

