Dinner // Eating the Star – Tim Ho Wan

//
An entry before I lunch date with mom. This will be Tim Ho Wan I. Next up will be Tim Ho Wan II.
//

I had the privilege to join the 1.5 hr queue at Plaza Singapura. Like a lost tourist looking for Tim Ho Wan, I quickly whipped out my phone to check on the address and unit number.
There’s was a store still under renovation when I last visited Plaza Singapura. Must be somewhere near Starbucks. Tim Ho Wan spotted!
This is my bi-monthly dinner appointment with WQ and WX. Fortunately that evening was pretty cooling, that made my queuing bearable. Queue is long – like When iPhone 5 first launched. Yah, can imagine like double the queue length.

Ok, our turn to enter. But…WX is late. Staff couldn’t give us the table unless all my table pax arrive. So got to bypass and let other others queuing behind me to head in first. 15 mins passed, WX arrive.

We ordered –

A1 / Steamed Egg Cake (Malay Cake)
A3 / Baked Bun with BBQ Pork
A4 / Pan Fried Carrot Cake
B5 / Prawn Dumpling
B6 / Pork Dumpling with Shrimp
B7 / Glutinous Rice Dumpling
C15 / Beancurd Skin Roll with Shrimp
D19 / Rice with Chicken, Sausage and Mushroom
E21 / Congee with Lean Pork, Century Egg and Salted Egg
F23 / Vermicelli Roll with BBQ Pork
F24 / Vermicelli Roll with Shrimp

I think we did order more, but I can’t recall. WX paid for it. Hee.

There are lots of food bloggers talking about Tim Ho Wan like a rockstar. Don’t get me wrong. I love reading food blogs. Just don’t really agree with them sometimes.

So I’ll just focus on what’s good.

The Baked Bun with BBQ Pork is divine. From it’s outer-layer, you see perfection in it’s shape and lightly browned bun, sweetness from the bun, together with BBQ Pork / Char Siew. Somehow, some revolution happened in my mouth.
Me not a food blogger, but it’s goooood. We had 2 servings of buns, that’s 6pcs.

Second is Malay Cake – Steamed Egg Cake.
Texture is Light and fluffy, reminds me of good quality pandan cake. When I put it into my mouth, my taste bud could interact with the brown spongy cake and I just can’t get enough of it. You can’t imagine how happy I was when WX and WQ took no interest in Malay Cake.
Woohoo…I got the whole cake all to myself!

Another worthy mention is Beancurd Skin Roll with Shrimp

Would I queue for another 1.5 hr? No…
Will I bring my mother to eat at Tim Ho Wan? Yes lah, she has never been there mah plus she loves Dim Sum. So how reluctant also must bring her there at least once. But we plan to go after 2pm, hopefully can the siam the long queue.

The next entry will have my mom’s review. Heh Heh Heh.

Tim Ho Wan Singapore 添好運
68 Orchard Road #01-29A
Plaza Singapura, Singapore 238839
Website: http://www.timhowan.com
Operating Hours: 10:00 – 22:00

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

